Home Covid-19 New Covid Variant Sparks Travel Curbs — These Nations Have Barred Flights...

New Covid Variant Sparks Travel Curbs — These Nations Have Barred Flights From Southern Africa


New Delhi: Amid worldwide concern over The variant is a cause of concern because of its high number of mutations and rapid transmission among young people, AP reported. 

Several countries, including European Union nations, that are still recovering from the economic impact of harsh lockdowns and were opening slowly have started putting back travel restrictions. India has directed states to rigorously screen and test travellers coming from or transiting through South Africa, Botswana and Hong Kong.

These Are The Countries That Have Put Travel Restrictions:

  • Britain: The UK has imposed travel restrictions on arrivals from South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Namibia starting Friday. Non-UK and Irish residents who have been in the six African countries in the previous 10 days will be refused entry into England. A temporary ban on commercial and private planes travelling from the six countries will also come into force.
  • Israel: Israel had already added South Africa and six other African countries to its “red list”. It imposed a 14-day quarantine for Israelis coming back to the country from those nations.
  • Italy: Authorities in Italy banned entry to those who have been in South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia or Swaziland in the past fortnight.  
  • Germany and Scotland have also joined Britain in banning travel to six African nations. France has also suspended all flights coming from southern Africa for 48 hours, French Health Minister Olivier Veran told Reuters.
  • Singapore: The Health Ministry said all non-Singaporeans and people without permanent residency in the city who have recent travel history to the seven African countries would be barred from entering or transiting through Singapore. The new restrictions, which will take effect from Sunday, apply to South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, and Zimbabwe. Singapore citizens and foreigners holding permanent resident status arriving from those countries will have to undergo a 10-day quarantine, AFP reported.

Source link

Previous articleTomato Price Hike: 5 Ingredients That You Can Use Instead Of Tomato
Next article54 Students of Odisha Medical College Down with COVID-19


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here